Staples Easy Tech Reviews

Please provide an Staples Easy Tech review about your experiences with Staples antivirus products. Be sure to select a star rating of 1 thru 5 stars taking into considering such factors such as their customer service, price comparison, value, quality of service provided, and any other factors important to you.

Are you an unsatisfied customer? Have you been scammed by Staples?  You can post a complaint or even post a warning about Staples products to their potential clients. Are you a satisfied Staples customer that wants to tell everyone about your experience? Please share your feedback with the online community by posting here.

Remember, Staples Easy Tech Reviews help customers make educated decisions on which computer antivirus software to use.

  1. Kathie Deviny
    Jun 19, 2014

    4

    Jason at your Santa Barbara downtown store provided excellent on-site service.

  2. Pam orisek
    Jun 11, 2014

    4

    I always go to staples for my computer purchases for their superior tech support.
    I use staples on – 17th Ave santa cruz mainly but have had the same experience at all staples. Even when in Las Vegas I have had event support long distance.
    LOL ETHAN I can call my local office, speak to a concerned tech and get direct immediate support and help. Would not go anywhere else.

  3. Wallace & Assoc.
    Apr 1, 2014

    4

    Our company purchased several computer related items for a client of ours and used the easy tech program to do so. The owner of our company was impressed with the deals on the equipment and total package that the tech put together. She found him to be very helpful.

  4. Jackie W.
    Mar 25, 2014

    1

    Easytech I was told it was an excellent resource for computer repair and network security services.Boy was I misled.

    I paid them come out and optimize and old workstation desktop computer and to help me with my network security. When I had called and requested the service I was told it would only take an hour and a half. 2 hours later the technician seemed to be confused and didn’t appear that he knew what he was doing. He had made about 4 calls to someone at his “office” in what I assume was him asking “what do I do next?” It became painfully obvious he was new at this.

    I politely asked him about the status of the service because I had to pick up my son from baseball practice soon. He said it wouldn’t be much longer. This was not the case. His inadequacy at this made me late to pick up my son and I had to ask him to leave because I couldn’t have a stranger in my home while I was gone:.

    When I got home I called the store and asked about having someone more qualified to come out and finish the job”. I was then told there would another charge because I interrupted the last technician’. What?!?! Are you serious?

    Upon hearing this I became irritated and frustrated because had the first tech knew what he was doing this wouldn’t be necessary|. At that point I hung up the phone and started calling other services. Through this website, I was able to find secureremotesupport. They’re online and remote. After calling these guys, they connected to my machine and fixed Staples mistakes. They wrote me a report to give my Credit Card company to get my money back too!

    It took less than an hour and they were complete with the service;. Easytech really needs to train the personnel better.

  5. ticket off customer
    Oct 25, 2013

    1

    On black Friday we purchased a laptop from Staples. First they overcharged me so I went to the store the next day and they had to return all my items and then I repurchased it at the lower price. One of the items that had to be returned and repurchased was the PC Gold online setup:.

    When we tried to activate the online help we were told that it was invalid because it had been returned”. So back to Staples I went, they apologized and gave us another access code’.

    I came home and my husband called to activate the new one and we were told once again that this code was invalid|. My husband became upset and the account representative actually had the nerve to LAUGH at my husband?.

    He then demanded to speak to a supervisor and was put on hold for several minutes”. After he spoke to the supervisor we were told to go back to Staples and get another access code?.

    I then went to Staples and managed to get them to solve our problem!. The associates name was Michael, and he was very helpful.

    And all of this was made worse by the fact that the $50.00 easy rebate has been a total pain..

  6. Unhappy
    Aug 27, 2013

    1

    The hard drive of my laptop that I purchased at Staples failed 15 months after purchase, and not having had much luck with other computer repair stores, I decided to try their Easy Tech service.

    An Easy Tech representative ran a diagnostic check and said that the drive needed to be replaced, and along with data recovery could be repaired in 1-2 weeks. Because it was my business machine, I purchased another laptop immediately, but was anxious to get what data had escaped backup.

    After two weeks, I called Staples to see if my laptop was ready. No. “Call back in a few days, we’re waiting for a part.” I tried this two more times without any luck, then was told to call their supplier, because they would have more information.

    I called the supplier, and the rep who got back to me said ‘I’m not sure why Staples sent you to us — your machine isn’t even here.” I called Staples back and asked why I was sent to the supplier. “I don’t know.” “So where is my laptop?” “Let me check.”

    A supervisor got on the phone. “May I help you?” I explained I was trying to locate my laptop, and that it had now been three and a half weeks without anyone bothering to call me with any updates. “Oh, it’s here in our warehouse.” “What’s been done?” “Nothing.” “It’s been three and a half weeks and you’ve done nothing and no one has bothered to call me? That’s ridiculous!” “Yes, it is.”

    I stormed over to the store, demanded a refund, and took my laptop to a nearby repair shop. The laptop was up and running in five days. Stapless never identified the “missing part,” and a rep later told me “It’s not Staples fault, it’s not Blue Raven’s fault, it’s not your fault.”

    But it didn’t end there. I called Staples national support the day I received the refund, and the rep I spoke with offered me a $100 credit for my troubles. She also asked that I call the Staples President’s office to complain.

    When I reached the President’s office, the person there said that the other rep had no authority to issue a credit, and further, had the temerity to say that if I was looking for money it wasn’t going to happen. I said, ‘Look, you just failed to repair my laptop in almost four weeks, and I’m calling on the counsel of your own representative. You haven’t even apologized!’ She replied, ‘You received a refund, and that’s all you’re going to receive, sir.’

  7. I was misled into thinking Easy tech at Staples was an excellent resource for computer repair and network security services.

    Boy was I misled. I paid them come out and optimize and old workstation desktop computer and to help me with my network security. When I had called and requested the service I was told it would only take an hour and a half to complete the service from beginning to end. 3 hours later the technician seemed to be confused and didn’t appear that he knew what he was doing. He had made about 4 calls to someone at his “office.” I could hear him asking, “what do I do next?” It became painfully obvious he was new at this.

    I politely asked him about the status of the service because I had to pick up my son from baseball practice soon. He said it wouldn’t be much longer. This was not the case. His inadequacy at this made me late to pick up my son and I had to ask him to leave because I couldn’t have a stranger in my home while I was gone.

    When I got home I called the store and asked about having someone more qualified to come out and finish the job. I was then told there would another charge because I interrupted the last technician. What?!?! Are you serious? They werent able to complete the job, there is still NO security on my network and the computer is acting really slow now. It is even worse than when we started this process.

    Upon hearing this I became irritated and frustrated. Had the first tech knew what he was doing this wouldn’t be necessary. At that point I hung up the phone and started calling other services. I reserached for easy tech reviews and staples easy tech reviews and I found similar experiences that customers were having using these guys. I was able to find another service provider though. I settled on secureremotesupport.com to manage Easytech’s failure!

    It took less than an hour and they were complete with the service. They informed me that Staples Easy Tech support staff did not install the network security and the computer still was laden with virus and malware type infections. I’m incredibly disspapointed in this and wish I would have read for easy tech alternatives before losing over $300 to these guys.

    Good luck, and DO NOT use Staples Easy Tech!

  8. Krukfan
    Jun 25, 2013

    1

    As a former Staples EasyTech employee and highly-regarded computer expert, I find it absolutely ridiculous that I was accused of returning a computer in repair to its owner stating the work was completed, yet the work was never done correctly. I was accused of not having done the correct work, but I wasn’t the EasyTech who performed the repair.
    Please don’t take your computer to get repaired at Staples. The EasyTech “kids” I worked with had no previous computer knowledge, but could sell services to rip-off the customer…and as informed by management, “Have the repair charges split between 2 or 3 paychecks.” According to the Staples training, we weren’t supposed to manage the customer’s money. Hmmm…irony???
    And here’s the kicker…hearing other EasyTech employees telling customers that they don’t have extensive computer knowledge, calling me over to answer detailed computer questions, having managers watch me work on computers and having no idea of what I’m doing (it was removing viruses on the most detailed level), or telling customers that a wireless all-in-one printer/copier/scanner/fax machine can fax without a phone line because it’s wireless. That was told to a customer by another EasyTech person, and it took all I could do to stop from laughing in front of the customer. Basic knowledge isn’t a must to work in the Staples computer department.
    Bottom-line is NEVER take your computer to a retail store, especially Staples, for computer repair. Chances are you’ll never see your computer again, or it’ll take so long that you’ll forget you left it for repair and they use it for parts.
    Good luck.

  9. Isabel
    Jun 25, 2013

    1

    I bought a computer and at first, it was not delivered on time. Then they delivered it and apologized and after a few weeks, the Windows program did not work. Then they had me buy a new program (I was not aware of the problem) and it still did not work. Then I had to pay to have someone come to my home and they found out that it was something wrong with the computer. They fixed the problem (so they told me) and now the computer does not have any sound. This is a new computer which I paid over $900.00 for the CPU and have had so many problems that I cannot take any more time out of work to accommodate their technicians coming to my home. I feel that at this point, I should get a new computer because obviously this computer is faulty. I have all of the receipts of the many times I have had to pay and the service costs. Thank you.

  10. Frances
    Jun 25, 2013

    1

    I walked into this Staples to see about purchasing a computer. Cate, the Tech Expert, started a conversation with me, I explained I was having trouble with my computer and thought I had better buy a new one.

    She asked me what the trouble was, I said, it would start and then stop so that I could not boot up.

    She told me, I do not need to buy a new one, she could fix my old one.

    I said, how much, she said $69.99, she said she knows what is wrong and proceeded to tell me she is highly trained as an expert and can fix any computer.

    I had to make an appointment to come back later on since I had to go and get my tower for her to look at.

    I brought the computer tower back to her – she connected it and said, no problem, she will get it running for me.

    She took out a bunch of papers and asked me to just sign.

    Since the store was closing, I did not read what I was signing.

    They rang up $69.99 on the register and I paid with a credit card.

    She had the computer from 2/02 to 2/06 and after hearing nothing,

    I phoned the store and was told by another clerk that if I wanted the computer fixed, I would need to spend much more money.

    I pulled out the papers I signed and read them, and saw I was just charged for a diagnosis and nothing else. This was not what I was told.

    I went to the store and picked up my tower.

    Afterward, I took the tower to another store – the tech there connected it and opened the back and told me the power driver and fan was shot and needed to be changed, which would cost – $100, part included, but he did not charge me for a diagnosis.

    Needless to say, the day I went to Staples I would have purchased a new computer from them instead, I was pushed by Cate into her charging me $69.99 – apparently, this is what they want to do.

    She presented herself as an expert and I believed her.

    All she had to do was be honest with me, not tell me lies – I really would have preferred to buy a new computer! But she said she could fix my old one and out me through a lot of trouble lugging the tower there and later picking it up.

    Plus, when they screwed on the back to close the tower, they put on all the wrong size screws – this is an expert!

    Well, Staples will never see me again -

  11. john alley
    Apr 24, 2013

    don’t like staples overcharged me and claimed Norton was defective it was not don’t advise customer properly without first making money for staples would recommend to anyone staples as a computer store buy at another store

  12. sed oh
    Apr 27, 2012

    1

    The Easy Tech’s job involved removing 3 different conflicting software programs (Uniblue registry booster, Spyware doctor and McAfee) and installing Norton. The main installation was done, but I learned that other software was also removed or changed: the AOL icon was moved to the “Games” folder, I had no communication with the printer, so the printer drivers had to be uninstalled and reinstalled, the Real player was gone; the worst part is that the desktop icon for Watchguard VPN was missing and the folder was also missing from the programs file PLUS the associated files were not properly removed from the registry, making it impossible to reinstall software (this software was not properly uninstalled) I need for my job.